Lens error...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by PerfectlyFlawed, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. PerfectlyFlawed

    PerfectlyFlawed TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I bought a "macro extension tube" on ebay...

    Just curious to see what it did, so I didn't want to spend too much on it...
    Got it today and hooked it up on my kit lens ( just in case...because its the crappier of the 2 lenses I own)

    ANYWAY, I hooked it up and it was useless. I got an error like ... "Lens not attached" or something along those lines.

    What was I doing wrong? ... or is it just a Piece of S**t! :( haha.

    anyone ever have this issue? Advice?:confused:
     
  2. Sawblade

    Sawblade TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iraq
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You need to switch to M mode. Also, you'll be stuck at the smallest aperture on a G lens.
     
  3. PerfectlyFlawed

    PerfectlyFlawed TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    ah... ok. well then that explains the half of it.lol:lmao:
     
  4. PerfectlyFlawed

    PerfectlyFlawed TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I read something online (yes, i googled it first) lol... that by switching it into -M-mode and turn VR off, and Manual off the lens....move the camera to focus it...

    now I think i can handle the man-focus. However, gotta get the "lens error" to go away.. gonna mess around with it tomorrow... half asleep right now.lol


    any one else?
     
  5. Dao

    Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    418
    Location:
    St. Louis
    On a older Nikon, I believe there is a "Auto/Manual" switch on the body for AF. If your camera have the switch, I will try it on "Manual".

    And if your lens is capable of manually adjust the aperture, adjust the aperture on the lens.

    I do not know too much about Nikon camera since I use Canon myself. But I remembered seeing something like that in the past. I could be wrong.
     
  6. PerfectlyFlawed

    PerfectlyFlawed TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I think i posted this in the wrong section....=/
     
  7. TJ K

    TJ K No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sunny South Florida
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Put the camera in manual. The switch on the camera, the switch on the camera body near the lens, and the switch on the lens. You will have to try and figure out a correct exposure yourself with no help from the camera and a very dark view finder.
     
  8. reznap

    reznap No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Ohio
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have some cheap tubes also. They don't have electrical contacts so autofocus and aperture control go out the window. HOWEVER someone gave me a great tip on here. If you mount the lens to the camera, set your aperture, and then press and hold the depth of field preview button while you dismount the lens, the aperture will stick at whatever you set it to. Then mount the lens on your tubes and voila, f/11 or f/22 or whatever you set it at before.

    That's for Canon but Nikon should have something essential the same, I'm guessing.
     
  9. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,099
    Likes Received:
    3,765
    Location:
    UK - England
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Nope - sadly the lens trick only works with Canon lenes and not Nikon. The other downside for nikon shooters is that your lenses default to closed aperture blades when removed from a body - so that means a very dark viewfinder image, harder exposure requirements (more light needed) and also softer images through the fact that you will be using such a small aperture and thus will have issues with diffraction.

    You do however have the advantage that some of your lenses have manual aperture controls still on them but I have no idea how these function nor which lenses have this feature.
     
  10. Derrel

    Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,456
    Likes Received:
    12,796
    Location:
    USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The Nikon G-series lens workaround is to move the manual stop-down lever and to use a piece of paper or tape to keep the stop down lever in the position that yields the f/stop you want. Or, to use Nikon lenses that have aperture rings on them (around 40 million of the 50 million Nikkors made have aperture rings on them; the G-series lenses are fairly new,and comprise a minority of lenses.)

    These new ULTRA-cheap extension tubes coming out of China are a pretty new thing; until about a year ago, I had never heard of extension rings for AF cameras being built without contacts...but the flood of bargain-basement products out of China has changed the idea that a product should actually work fully before it is made...and at the incredibly low prices of these ultra-cheap-o tubes, I am astounded that the Chinese can make,wholesale,and ship these things and make any profit whatsoever.
     
  11. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,099
    Likes Received:
    3,765
    Location:
    UK - England
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Oh I think the idea of cheap wholesale products that don't work was in the making a long time before china got involved - they are just able to go to more extreme lengths because of the lower production costs (labour and materials) than other nations.

    Also remember that whilst tubes without contacts might be new, bellows setups often come without contacts either.
     
  12. PerfectlyFlawed

    PerfectlyFlawed TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Well thank you guys for the help! I appreciate it...

    I'll play around with it. Give it a whirl...see what happens. If anything, its just a cheapo tube from hong kong...so out the window it goes.. then i know better next time.LOL

    Curiosity got the best of me.

    Is there a better ( but still reasonably cheap ) tube I could get without second guessing---or have to use tricks to get it to work?:scratch:

    Im just gonna start saving up for a damn macro dedicated lens. arg!:gah:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
auto focus macro extension tube for nikon, lens not attached
,
d5000 lens error
,

extension tube lens not attached

,
macro extension tube no lens attached
,
macro extention error lens not attached
,

nikon d5000 lens error

,
nikon d5000 lens error message
,
nikon d5000 lens not attached error message
,
nikon d5000, lens not attached
,

nikon lens not attached message