Lens(es) for Nikon D5100, sports enthusiast

snowlord

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
I am new to photography and I just bought a Nikon D5100, after some careful research it seemed the best choice. I snowboard a lot, and I love the photos that come with it. I am really confused on what lenses to get for my camera for snowboarding. Some say wide angle zoom, others say standard zoom lenses. Any feedback would be EXTREMELY helpful. THANKS!!!

Depends on how close to the action you can get and what type of shot you are after. I suspect people are going to ask you to be more specific about these things before you'll get many recommendations.

Either a 10-20 Sigma, 11-16 Tonika, or some fisheye (not to versed in fisheyes so I cannot make a recommendation.)

5100 is not suited best for outdoor, snowy activity- the body is not weather sealed as in the D300. It will work, just be very careful of how wet you get it.

Also, a SB-800 speedlight will serve you well for fill flash.

p!nK

I came across that issue, but I didn't have enough cash for the D300. I am having a friend make a waterproof case for it where he works. Thanks for the suggestions i'll take a look at them!

I am the opposite of pink. I'd want a 70-200 f/2.8 for snowboarding. You can't get all that close to someone on the slopes so I'd be NEEDING reach.
A camera cover that includes warmers-your batteries will drain faster than you can change them out in the cold. I believe Camera Duck makes a sleeve that also includes warmers/warmer pockets.

Okay, thanks. I'm going to take a look at those. I chose the D5100 because of the it was 16 mp instead of 12, and the fact it was way cheaper. The lenses are killing me now, so confusing.

You have to know about what YOU want first. Do you need to REACH for the image or do you need to have that wide view?