Light meter?

Discussion in 'The Lensbabies Place' started by crawdaddio, Jun 13, 2006.

  1. crawdaddio

    crawdaddio TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Central IL
    Will my light meter work with these? I have a nikon D50 and N80 35mm. The website says that the LB will not communicate electronically with your camera. So I can live without AF and obviously you set the aperture manually, but most importantly does your meter work? Any one use one with a D50? Please help, I am considering buying one but not if I have to use a handheld meter.

    Thanks in advance,
    ~DC
     
  2. Unimaxium

    Unimaxium TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Northeastern University, originally from Philly
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I think I've heard that the D70 and D50 won't meter when using non-AF lenses (e.g. lensbaby). But I suppose you can always use the sunny-16 rule and bracket a lot (and use the histogram to check). Being digital, you don't really have to worry about wasting shots.

    edit: just realized this thread is kinda old. ah well.
     
  3. Tiberius

    Tiberius TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    It's not non-AF lenses, it's non-CPU lenses (AI). Since they do say that they don't communicate electronically, that would lead me to believe that the Lensbabies are non-CPU lenses.
     
  4. darin3200

    darin3200 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    If it doesn't electronically communicate with the camera the lens probably being stopped down when you stop it down. This is in contrast to a normal lens that doesn't actually stop down until you take a picture. Therefore your metering should work just fine since it's reading the amount of light coming in after you stop down.
     
  5. Tiberius

    Tiberius TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    But the D50/D70 won't meter at all without a CPU (electronic communication). The D100/200/2x has no such issue, however.
     
  6. darin3200

    darin3200 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Ohhh....

    Then I guess just take a guess and work from there.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to take light meter on nikon f50
,
light meter
,
nikon d50 checking light meter
,

nikon d50 light meter

,
where is the light meter on nikond50