light metering: Bronica ETR-C

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by elliotjnewman, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. elliotjnewman

    elliotjnewman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all! My first post here...

    I have just bought a 1977 Bronica ETR-C Medium format camera. I would like to know how I can light meter? Is there one built into the camera? I dont know how to use it if there is! I have looked at the manual and I cant seem to find aything about it... Will I need to buy a light meter? I usually use digital, or newer 35mm cameras which give you digits for exposure, but I just cant see how I can meter with this old camera!

    Little help?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Elliot.
     
  2. santino

    santino TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Austria, heart in Poland -->
    get a handheld lightmeter (or a ttl lightmeter prism if there is one for the ETR-C).
     
  3. ferny

    ferny TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    8,115
    Likes Received:
    64
  4. elliotjnewman

    elliotjnewman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ferny - thanks, I have already read that, but no mention of metering...

    santino - whats ttl? I guess I will need another prism then... (if there is one)

    I have used a handheld meter before, but only in the studio - are they any good for landscapes?
     
  5. santino

    santino TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Austria, heart in Poland -->
    ttl just means "through the lens". you would need a new prism, it would have a build in lightmeter and it would meter through the lens.
     
  6. tr0gd0o0r

    tr0gd0o0r TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    you can also use your slr to meter if you don't have more money or don't feel like investing in a handheld. Its what i do and it works great. Just meter with your slr and use that reading for the other camera
     
  7. elliotjnewman

    elliotjnewman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    tr0gd0o0r - thanks for the idea with the slr - but I no longer own one! The Bronica is now the only camera I have!

    I'll have a look at prisms which come with ttl lightmeter, I want to get a waistlevel viewfinder anyway, so Ill check if it has ttl meter... If not then I will have to get a handheld meter - Shock! How much do those things cost! I can only afford a cheap one, whats the use in a really expensive one? Surely it cant be because of accuracy? I mean, if a camera has, say, like mine, shutter speeds of 60th 125th 250th 500th then how would a really expensive handheld meter be more accurate than a cheapo one? I mean, its not like I can set the camera to a 173.52th of a second becuase my expensive light meter gave me that really precise measure! Im confused... Are we photographers being ripped off on our equipment?...
     
  8. elliotjnewman

    elliotjnewman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, and also, since we have moved onto exposures...

    I have an external flash, which seems to connect up to the Bronica ok, but I havent tested it yet - how will a flash work with this camera? Im used to my digital camera just firing the flash when I push the exposure button - will this be the same with this old camera??
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
bronica etr light meter
,

bronica etr-c

,

bronica etrc

,
bronica etrs exposure meter
,

bronica etrs light meter

,
bronica etrs metering
,
bronica light meter
,
bronica meter
,
bronica metering
,
how does light meter bronica camera