Lighting question: LEDs?

MarcusM

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have almost no experience with lights but am going to get some in the future. I was just thinking, does anyone have experience with LEDs? Would these work good for home-made studio setups at all as a cheaper alternative to the expensive lights?

For example, some of these newer bulbs on the market, while expensive are quite a bit lower than the photog lights, and don't generate heat Also, it seems like they would generate a nice, natural-looking white light:

http://www.betterlifegoods.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=1

Would these work well? This may seem like a dumb question, but again, I have no experience with lights and the idea popped in my head so I had to ask.

Well, if you want the 10-20-30 watt jobs that they have there, to do the same as a couple of 150 watt incandescent bulbs, you will be disappointed.

I cant say much on this though, because i haven't any experience with those LED lights.

I have almost no experience with lights but am going to get some in the future. I was just thinking, does anyone have experience with LEDs? Would these work good for home-made studio setups at all as a cheaper alternative to the expensive lights?

For example, some of these newer bulbs on the market, while expensive are quite a bit lower than the photog lights, and don't generate heat Also, it seems like they would generate a nice, natural-looking white light:

http://www.betterlifegoods.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=1

Would these work well? This may seem like a dumb question, but again, I have no experience with lights and the idea popped in my head so I had to ask.