Livingroom concert

TheStupidForeigner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A friend of mine is having a livingroom concert and asking if I could take a few photos for her. It is in a livingroom but as I know quite a large livingroom with around 50 or more guests but no fancy lighting as far as I know. So I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions to get some nice artistic looking shots at a place like this?

I have quite limited equipment, a canon t3 that gets very grainy over 400iso with a 18-55 f3.5 and a 50mm f1.8 prime. I also have 2 strobes, 1 light stand and a few modifiers.

I'm a relative newbie at photography and never taken anything like this before, but still I wanna get quite adventurous, get some interesting angles, maybe thinking to try back lighting with a strobe on a stand and get some nice flare too. I donno... Any suggestions, or better yet example images? Been looking on google images but can't seem to find too much.

I would keep it simple: 18-55, and speedlight on a TTL cord. That way you can get the flash off the camera, but it's always with you. Just wander around shoot what looks interesting. Bring lots of batteries for the flash and just have fun. Maybe try some rear curtain sync and so on if you want to get creative.

Keep in mind that the person probably would want to have photos that included everyone that was there. You'll get most, or all, by taking enough photos. You can also use the old trick of holding the camera up as high as you can and shooting down a bit into the crowd. It's not easy but you can pick up the knack of getting the right angle pretty quickly. Remember to angle the flash up a bit more if you shoot overhead like that.

bouncing the light from the flash is an excellent idea. use the 50mm 1.8 for portraits and the 18-55IS for wider shots. definitely use the lights if it's at night and you don't have much ambient.
But don't be afraid of using higher ISO's !