My dog this time... c&c

julia4480

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi guys, please don't get sick of me. I am practicing ( and getting frustrated while doing so!)! LOL. I played tonight with my puppy who lovingly indulges me every time. I upped the ISO to ISO 800 and also turned on more lights. F 5.6 and shutter speed at 1/2 sec, which still seems low to me but this was the best result I got. This is not a shot for composition, just pure technique, as I am wanting to get good at the indoor, dark outside shots. I believe I used manual focus in this one.

She is looking at a treat laying in front of her. I wish she had lifted her head a little, but like I said, this was just a practice my settings.

006.jpg

What I love about this, is the reflection in the dogs eyes. I can give no C&C because I am a noob myself, but I do like this picture.

What I love about this, is the reflection in the dogs eyes. I can give no C&C because I am a noob myself, but I do like this picture.

Thank you so much Ajake! :)

I cannot tell where the focus is, doesnt look like its on his eyes, possibly on the top of his snout, the first thought I had was, the whole photo is out of focus, but I think the focused area is just off. I would like to see more out of the dog, a better expression or more of his eyes. The downward shot with him looking down I think is hurting it.

cute pup...

when you shot in manual exposure, did you get a good reading? (did it look something like this in the viewer? +-----------0---------------) what mode are you metering in?

in indoor/dark/night situations... lighting is crucial and will be your best friend. add more light in this scene and it will help your picture.