My first HDR picture - help me!

carlt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to photography and recently bought a tripod which I took out with me last night to try out HDR-photography.

The image was created in Photomatix with a single RAW through Tone Mapping. Although I think I've managed to get a fairly pleasing result after masking out the sky and more in Photoshop there's still too much noise.

Please help me with techniques for reducing noise. I shot the image at 400 ISO - should that number have been even lower? Or would there be less noise if I had actually merged different images rather than using one RAW?

Simply: how do I reduce noise in my HDR-photos?

DSC01477_large.jpg

I found that when using one, i often get more noise than i would like. Personally, i shoot 5 auto bracketed exposures, (-2, -1, 0, +1, +2). I shoot in jpeg, because i find that it is easier than fiddling around with RAW images. The thing is, when you have on image, and you push the exposure up or down, youre making the noise more apparent, especially when you brighten the image.

I found for some reason that my first HDR image was REALLY noisy, but after i i did it a few times, they became less noisy.

Do you have it on "reduce noise" when you hdr it?? You can also get plugins for ps, such as noiseware and noiseninja ( i am pretty sure those are the names. Someone confirm that please. )

Carlt
When I view your shot in the smaller version, I see a decent photo. When I opened it up...WHOA

There are a lot of tutorials online to help you get started with HDR. For your first attempt, not too bad, but improvement is defintely necessary.

I would not waste time on this shot, try to bracket shots and go from there. Remember, this shot is not just HDR, it is also a night shot - 2 different types of photography. So you will also need to work on your nighttime shooting skills as well. Again, there are many tutorials for that as well.