My first time ever shooting sports, how'd I do?

Vicelord John

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Thanks for looking. I am pretty happy with my pictures but what do y'all think?

DSC_3220.jpg

DSC_3201.jpg

DSC_3166.jpg

DSC_3140.jpg

DSC_3133.jpg

I think you did pretty good. In some of them I'd like to see up closer.

#2 for example, the catcher doesn't add much for me.. cropping some off the top and a lot off the left would be my preference.

On all of the others I'd like to see up closer, the players' faces mainly. #1 is a great reaction (did he get hit by a pitch? looks like pain on his face) but all the grass on the left - I'd bring it in almost to his shadow on the left and cut the guy out of the top since it's not the pitcher.

But I'm very new to this stuff, and I've also never paid much attention to sports photography and never tried it myself, so keep that in mind.

#5 is my favorite, and would look even better closer up, imo.

I like them as they are...

1. Looks as if he got hit. Would have been sweet to see a tight shot of him so you could see the pain on his face. Great shot through the net though!

2. I agree with reznap. I think if you are going to get the catcher in there you need to shift to the right and get the ump too.

3. I like as is.

4. I like as is.

5. Again, I agree with reznap. Needs to be closer. I still love it as is too!

yeah, looking at those I can see what you mean.

I had no idea what I was doing, and being in the dugout with real professionals kind of humbled me and made me afraid to really jump in and get it done at the same time.

Were you shooting with the lens wide open? If not, they would be improved by opening the lens all the way. (to blur the background and make it less distracting)

The one with the guys around the mound could've been closer. If not from your lens, then from cropping.