Need advice on beginning first year

kitkatdubs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
For those veterans in the business, what was your first year actually charging like? Was it slow? Did it take a long time to build up a consistent client base? I just launched my website in the Bay Area. My husband did some marketing- got 30 clicks to my website and only two inquires. Any advice for a newbie starting out? I've been working for free for the past 9 months building up my portfolio.
Here's a link to my website! Any feedback is welcome!!!

www.kaitlynrosephotography.com

You won't break even over a year so don't expect to. And please don't work for free - you damage the entire photography business when you do that.

Don't work for free.
90% of a photography business is BUSINESS.
10% or less is the actual photography.
The average salary for a photographer is 25K. You can quite literally be more successful and make more money working 32 hours a week at McDonald's.
You are one of about 80 billion people trying to start a business in photography. Certainly, try like hell to be successful, but do not delude yourself into thinking that you're 30 clicks ... or even 3,000 clicks away from success.

$25,000 is close to the low end ($21,000 a year), but that is right where a lot of retail photographers are - the low end.
Once established and having a good, broad, and solid repeat customer base a retail photographer having a very well run retail studio can make substantially more.

Fewer than 15% of professional photographers make more than $50,000 a year. Most of those making more than $50,000 a year have their business in a major city that has a high demand for a photographer services - Top 10, in order - NYC, LA, Chicago, Houston, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Antonio, San Diego, Dallas, San Jose.

There is a lot of competition, it takes lots of marketing, lots of self-promotion, lots of networking, and a fair measure of luck to get established.