Need some creative input for a term project

bigtwinky

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.pierrebphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Other than my intro post, I think this is the first thread I actually start. :)

I am very new to photography, really learning the craft, both technically and artistically. To help me, I’ve enrolled in a program at a local university, continuing education, to help me learn and progress.

I’m in my first course, already handed in a project that had to due with proper framing and exposure. Have 2 more projects due, one for depth of field and one for motion.

However, we have a term project that is due late November that I want to get a head start on as its worth 60% of our final grade. I’m not in this for the grade, more for the knowledge, but I want to do the best I can.

Ok…enough with the intro stuff. The term project consists of doing a minimum of 3 pictures (no maximum), printed on 8.5 x 11 paper, put on presentation boards and presented in front of the class. We need to chose a theme (totally open, but interesting) and a style – either photojournalism style, purely artistic or marketing / advertisement.

I decided to go with a photojournalism style. The overall theme I would like to explore in my visual essay is “cultural change”.

I need some artistic inspiration as to what types of images I could capture. I’d like to shoot as many as possible and then pick and chose the best.

I would like the first few photos to be more “happy”, progressive changes and as I go through them, they get a bit darker. Here is what I have so far:

- I have some friends in the gay community who would be willing to pose (I assume they would hehe). One is a trans-gendered woman and the other a lesbian. I was thinking of having them post with a backdrop of the pride flag or something similar