new lens rec

myopia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a newbie who has a question about lens choices. I prefer to use blk+wht film in low-light conditions. Which (reasonably priced) lens would suffice? I use a minolta x-370.

Also, on a different note- would an upgrade to a Canon AE-1 be worthwhile? (i can use my dad's)

A 50mm f/1.8 (or 1.7, I don't know Minoltas lens line) would be a great lens for you in low light.

Using a Canon AE-1 is only worthwhile if you have access to more/better lenses. The body is just a light tight box essentially. I don't know anything about the Minolta x-370 to really compare though.

myopia said:
I am a newbie who has a question about lens choices. I prefer to use blk+wht film in low-light conditions. Which (reasonably priced) lens would suffice? I use a minolta x-370.

Also, on a different note- would an upgrade to a Canon AE-1 be worthwhile? (i can use my dad's)

Does the Minolta have any 50/1.8 lens? If that's the case, that should suffice. You really don't need to go to a Canon AE1 (I can't believe I'm saying this, I'm a Canon AE1/A1 user as well...:lol: ) as long as you have that low light shooting lens, the 50/1.8 or 50/1.4. As I dont know the Minolta system very well, I don't really know if there are 50/1.4 lenses for it but I assume they do have the regular 50/1.8.

IMHO, stay with the Minolta and upgrade only the lens.

i have a 50mm/1.7, but if i used the cannon AE-1, i could be using a 50mm 1.4

would this switch make THAT much of a difference?

myopia said:
i have a 50mm/1.7, but if i used the cannon AE-1, i could be using a 50mm 1.4

would this switch make THAT much of a difference?

Then you're all set! You don't really want to spend the extra $$ for the Canon 50/1.4, the gain in aperture is somewhat insignificant and the Canon 50/1.8 is a better lens overall than the 50/1.4

Just my thoughts...