Nikon D4 vs D800 (or E)

SnappingShark

Always learning.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
In a similar vein to a similar thread .. Do people have a personal experience over The D4 vs the D800E ?

A lot have said they're very similar ... The battery life is better on the d4, it shoots faster, has better light sensitivity and less noise.
But then ... the resolution is better on the D800E, It's thinner and cheaper ... by about 2.5 GRAND!!!

I will be moving up to full frame eventually, and am curious whether to go "high end" or "professional".

If 16mp is enough and you don't mind weight the pro cameras are a significant step up. Having had Canon's (1d2 and 1ds) they were better built, faster and more customisable than the 5d. The truth is though that I am not a pro and didn't need a pro camera. Sometimes less is more

The D4 is essentially a pro grade action sports camera, which is why it has the high burst rate (up to 11 fps) and high ISO performance.

The D800/D800E are essentially designed for studio work, and to an extent by dint of the high MP count, are meant to compete with medium format studio cameras.
But, the D800/D800e are prosumer grade Nikon's because they lack the pro grade features like a built in vertical grip and Voice Memo.

Nikon's pro studio camera is the $8000 D3X, and at the pro level is what you would compare to the prosumer D800/D800E.

Depending on when you eventually upgrade to FF there may be newer, or other Nikon options.

The D4 is essentially a pro grade action sports camera.
The D800/D800E are essentially designed for studio work.
But, the D800/D800e are prosumer grade Nikon's.
Nikon's pro studio camera is the D3X, and is what you would compare to the prosumer D800/D800E.

So out of the D3X, D800/E, D4, which would be the better "all rounder".
The pixels are bigger in the D4 due to the sensor, right? so less is sometimes more? Or have I got that wrong?

Why? Excuse my ignorance :)