Nikon D90 or Canon 60D

thedeepestsleep

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My dad has a Nikon D90, and we have both taken tons of shots on it, its a very good camera.
But I was looking at the Canon 60D, and I saw its not much more expensive. The extra megapixels looks nice, because when shooting wildlife, I usually end up making huge crops.
I'm into landscape, cityscape, and wildlife photography.
So, should I get the D90 with an 18-105mm lens, or the Canon 60D with the 18-135?

My advice is to find a store where you can try out the Canon 60D.

I am a professional photographer and people ask me often..Canon or Nikon?
My reply is always the same....which system do you connect with?

Personally, I like the way Canon's are set up and in my opinion they have better sensors/image quality.

I'd bring a flash card to the camera store and shoot a few pics u sing each camera, take the card home and check out the images side by side.

Plus weigh the ease of use of each of them...which system was easiest for you to figure out using all the buttons/settings.

Good luck, do post which one you decide on.

D7000 is more along the lines of the 60D, but the D90 is still a fine camera - the benefit of going with Nikon of course is that you and your Dad could share lenses/flash units, etc.

But I agree - see which one makes the most sense to you. For what it's worth, I've owned the D90 and D7000 - D7000 is a better camera body if you can afford it.

D7000 is more along the lines of the 60D, but the D90 is still a fine camera - the benefit of going with Nikon of course is that you and your Dad could share lenses/flash units, etc.

But I agree - see which one makes the most sense to you. For what it's worth, I've owned the D90 and D7000 - D7000 is a better camera body if you can afford it.