Nikon DC lens on DX body for Portraiture

Aritay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still very new at this, so I hope this question makes sense:

From what I understand the DX bodies, with their cropped sensors, can make obtaining good DOF/bokeh for portraits a challenge.

Would a speciality Nikon defocus control (DC) lens, like the 105mm DC, work well with a DX body (e.g., Nikon D90) for controlling/creating nice portraiture DOF and bokeh?

thanks in advance

(sorry if this overlaps a bit with a thread I have going on the beginner forum - - just trying to figure out where to ask which questions)

Last edited:
I replied to your question about these two lenses in another post, but will reply again here, since you probably want more information on those two specific lenses. I own both,and have for most of this decade. Both are screwdriver focusing lenses, and both are medium telephotos with fast maximum apertures and relatively high image magnifcation, so those factors all make them "relatively" easy to focus. Both have relatively slow-ish,long-travel manual focusing throws, which makes them easy to focus accurately and precisely in manual focusing mode, and when using the defocus control, you *will* need to re-focus after adjusting the defocus control.

The defocus control can give some beautiful soft-focus effects, if desired.

On smaller, entry-level Nikon bodies that have a pentamirror viewfinder, like the D40 for example, the viewfinder image is not as crisp and clear as it is on the "pro-like" Nikon bodies that have all-glass pentaprisms and simply "better" viewfinder systems. Both lenses throw things out of focus pretty rapidly behind the point of sharpest focus, especially at close range. But because APS-C crops off the outer edges of the lens's field of view, you *will* be forced to stand quite a ways back to do say, a full-length portrait with either a 105 or 135mm DC lens on a DX format Nikon body. The 105 DC