Out of control with aperture 1.8 !

GMan_nz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi people – first time writer, short time reader…

I’ve been learning to use my D50 for about 6 months, starting with the 18-55mm kit lens, then 70-300mm zoom, and now I’ve recently been given (thanks Santa!) the next lens I wanted, a 50mm f1.8 prime.

I’ve always had a good understanding of effects of various types of motion with various shutter speeds from using a point & shoot (seems a pretty simple and intuitive concept to most people), and I think I have a pretty good handle on how aperture settings affect the final image in terms of decreased depth of field at low f-numbers, and slower shutter speeds required by higher f-numbers (when using aperture priority).

The problem is that I’m fascinated by this creative control that aperture priority allows. I can’t seem to help myself keeping the aperture as wide as possible to achieve the shortest depth of field I can – partly because I enjoy highlighting to people the effect it has in order to help them understand the benefits of a dSLR. I should mention that one of the key reasons I asked Santa for this new prime was actually more about keeping shutter speeds fast and blur limited in low-light – not so much to do with DOF.

I see plenty of perfectly good photos where a lot of the image is in focus. I’ve read that a good way to learn about composition in the field is to go walkabout with a 50mm or 85mm lens, but I can’t seem to get past this idea that I should have a particular subject pin sharp and everything else blurry.

My question is really – how do I wean myself off this shallow depth of field buzz that I’m on. And related to this, what is a useful range of aperture settings with a 50mm lens that will help me get interesting images out in the real world?

Thanks in advance.