Photoshoot Pricing

madisonofriel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello
My name is Maddie, I'm 16 years old and a aspiring photographer. Lately I've been doing photo shoots for friends/friends of friends and I don't know how to charge them... For example I did a Senior photoshoot as a favor for a friend which consisted of:
- Two days of shooting
- All the photos (processed in Lightroom) which I delivered to her.
- 8x10 Frame

I only charged her $100 plus other costs.

What should I be charging according to what I do? I know I am an amateur but I want to make this my business and need to have money so I can afford equipment.
Here are some of my shots. Thanks in advance!

PS: Also this is a little off subject, But does anyone know of any good Photography classes in the Atlanta area?

Photos from Maddie's Photography's post - Maddie's Photography | Facebook
Photos from Maddie's Photography's post - Maddie's Photography | Facebook
Mobile Uploads - Maddie's Photography | Facebook

Attachments

• DSC_1357-2.jpg
    DSC_1357-2.jpg
    127.8 KB · Views: 178
  • PicMonkey Collage.jpg
    PicMonkey Collage.jpg
    122 KB · Views: 173
I really like some of your pics. First, do a quick search on the forum. This topic has been discussed a thousand times. But I know you want an answer more related to your specific situation, right?

Decide what you want to make per hour (counting how much time you shoot AND edit) based on your experience and time you've put into it. They're paying for your experience, which they don't have. I think $100 is a fair price starting out. I did a few for $50 and now I'm about at $200. But it also varies depending on the gig, and I price a little higher than what I want so that way I can give clients a discount if I see fit and I'm happy because I'm still making what I want, and they're happy to get a discount.