Please Critique First Try w/ Outdoor Maternity Composit

maggyday

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First, let me say..this is my very first post on a forum like this. I know this photo has a lot of issues. I am a growing family photographer and I just recently began to venture outdoors. My camera is the Rebel T3i. I rented an 85mm 1.2 ll for this session. I my camera and that lens are a bit of a funny pair but it's the best I can do for now. I am still mastering my settings for outdoor back light. This is the best shot I was able to get for this specific set though. In the original photo there was a wall of bushes behind the woman up to the top of her head. I spent a lot of time cropping her from the photo. I added the sunset in the background. I would greatly appreciate some input. I am very eager to learn and I already have learned a lot from doing this session. But this is the best I have been able to do with this photo after spending a huge portion of my day on it. Any feedback would be so very much appreciated.
Critique Editsmall.jpg

why is everything orange? were you going for a science fiction look?

Not at all. It is a sunset though which is pretty orange here in AZ. But I tend to have issues with my photos having an abundance of yellow or orange. I'm not sure why. But I usually color correct. I just didn't think it would look weird with it being at sunset and all.

The style of the shot is not to my particular taste, but I will say that you've done a fine job of compositing there. The background is blended perfectly with the foreground, the colouring of the subject has been matched very well too.

The only thing that would give it away is that she has a rim light around her which is cooler than the rest of the image and there is no obvious light source for it, but I don't think it harms the image too much.

Overall, I'd say you've done a pretty good job! Well done!