question about nikon SB600

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by shingfan, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. shingfan

    shingfan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toroto, ON
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    this question might be a little specific...(maybe not).....my camera is nikon D80 and my flash unit is SB600

    when i attach the SB600 on my camera.......exposure is okay and everything is fine.....then i tried to use the SB600 as a wireless slave with the on camera flash as the commander....exposure is not so present...also i notice that when i use the SB600 as a slave...even if i place it right above my camera as if it is attached right above my camera.......the exposure is different

    camera setting is

    ISO 100
    aperature 4.8
    shutter 1/60

    SB600 is set to TTL
     
  2. newrmdmike

    newrmdmike TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    it varies.
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    in commander mode what do you have output set at on the built in speedlight?

    you can set manual exposure or auto in slave mode . . . so in slave you have to set its power, or trust the A mode.
     
  3. shingfan

    shingfan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toroto, ON
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    the built-in flash was set to "M" 1/128 as i like to use the SB600 as the main source of light........but the power of sb600 seems lower compare to when it is ON the camera?....any idea?...when sb600 is working as slave...i'm not able to adjust its output level....can only adjust the focal length

    tried again with built-in flash set to TTL auto.....again the result seems to be the same.....>_<

    is this the way it is supposed to work like?....when using as slave....i'm not able to adjust the exposure time of hte flash?
     
  4. Sw1tchFX

    Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,500
    Likes Received:
    478
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You're not supposed to leave the flash on slave when it's on the hot shoe and you're not supposed to leave the camera in commander mode when you've got it on the hot shoe.

    The reason your flash seems dimmer when it's off the camera is becuase of flash placement. The further away your light source is from your subject the dimmer it gets. you need to compensate for the inverse square law.
     
  5. shingfan

    shingfan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toroto, ON
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    when the SB600 is attached to my camera...of course it is not in slave mode as it will not do anything when i do that....when i attach it to the camera...it will be in auto TTL

    on camera flash is okay to leave in commander mode as it doesnt do anything until you pop it up...the circuitry is not active unless you pop up the on camera flash or you have a unit that is able to act as commander (SB600 can only act as slave)

    i understand that the further the flash is the dimmer it gets....what i experimented is that i stand on the same spot when i do the test shots....first i shoot with the SB600 on the camera at TTL mode...and then shoot again with the SB600 off the camera with i) on camera flash at M 1/128...ii) on camera flash at TTL...both give me similar result...however....it seems a lot dimmer compare to when the SB600 is attached to the camera......in both cases....the SB600 is just right beside my camera....so i assume light intensity is not different compare to when SB600 is on the hotshoe (assuming that in both situation SB600 fires the same light)

    once the sb600 is off the camera working as slave....i can only adjust the focal lenght....not the exposure time.....and i've tried different focal lenght....it doesnt help much with the exposure as i expected.......SB600 was working on channel 3 group A when i use it as slave.....it does trigger when i take the shot as i can interpret from the shadow of the object....any idea what is going wrong of this is the way it is suppose to be? (it seems kinda wierd not able to get the same result when the flash is off the camera standing above the same location)
     
  6. shingfan

    shingfan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toroto, ON
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    really need help on this one masters....the reason i need to figure it out is because i want to buy a L bracket for the flash but i want to save a few bucks not using the sync cord but use the wireless mode......since the wireless mode is handy...i thought it might be a good idea to make use of it
     
  7. shingfan

    shingfan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toroto, ON
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    phew....nikon canada saves the day....call their technical support and found the answer i was looking for.....great stuff...they really know what they make and what they are talking about....very informative
     
  8. BAB

    BAB TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix,AZ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Glad that you received some help, now what did they say?
     
  9. shingfan

    shingfan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toroto, ON
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    okay....since someone is interested....i'm glad to share it

    when SB600 is working as a slave off the camera....it really acts as a slave light source....thus providing less power than it normally would in TTL mode....so if you need proper or better exposure...you'll need to manually set the output level on the camera setting to get desire intensity.....or use compensation..........so TTL is only good when the flash is on the camera...once it is off the camera....it is all MANUAL control....but it kinda make sense too because the flash has no idea where it is sitting relative to the object under exposure....so things must be manual
     
  10. newrmdmike

    newrmdmike TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    it varies.
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    sorry i didn't get back on here sooner . . .

    you can adjust the output power, on slave it should say in the top left corner M, or A. in a its automatic, press mode, it will change to m, and a output amount will show up.

    then press up or down to change output.

    left and right for zoom.
     
  11. shingfan

    shingfan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toroto, ON
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit

    no....it doesnt work that way with SB600.....when it is attached to the camera...yes...you have all these options...but once the SB600 is off the camera working wirelessly.....all you can adjust is the "zoom".....nothing more....the control (output level) will have to be done on the camera inside the flash setting...since the camera becomes the commander now....giving all the commands
     
  12. newrmdmike

    newrmdmike TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    it varies.
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i'm talking about in slave mode, not when your using in camera master

    . . . i use mostly sb-800's, but thought the 600's did that as well

    if you didn't try it it might be worth trying, i'm postitive with the 800's its like that.

    when you have it in slave mode what does the screen say in the top left?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

adjusting exposure for the nikon sb 600

,

adjusting exposure on sb-600 flash

,

adjusting light output on sb600

,

can i use a sb600 attached to camera with commander mode

,

how to adjust nikon sb-600

,

how to set the output level on the sb600

,

howm to adjust nikon sb600

,

sb 600 manual output

,

sb600 flash didn't come with a stand now what

,

what do you set a sb600 to as slave with on camera flash