Reccomendations

LeftBehind

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm having a lot of fun with my new entry level Pentax K110D, I've purchased a tripod and a 50-200mm lens to go with my 18-55. These lenses are great, the zoom lens a little slow, but a steal at 165$. I'm enjoying both these lenses and am greatly satisfied. I am mostly interested in picking up a lens, maybe even two to dedicate to street photography. Something that operates well under low(er) light conditions, preferably a Prime lens, as i've never used one before and would love to test it out. Would could you recommend for a Pentax owner like myself?

http://blacksphoto.com/
http://donsphoto.com/
Unfortionatily these are the only two photography stores in my city. Which have left me with a bit of buyers remorse, due to the very little selection of lenses available. When purchasing the camera i looked at all the online stores and saw that there was as great deal of lenses available for Pentax, but little did i know i'd have no selection once inside my city. A recommendations from one of those stores would be great, but really, I could always just purchase one online.

If you are after a prime lens for low light work, or indeed just a great prime lens for the money, I would recommend either the Pentax FA 50mm f/1.4, or the FA 35mm f/2. Both are optically excellent. The 50mm with it's very wide max aperture is obviously a good choice for low light work. However since the 50mm is a mild telephoto lens, the 35mm may be better for general use. It's max aperture is not as impressive at f/2, but it focuses very fast, and is fantastic to use even wide-open at f/2. The advantage of the 35mm is that it performs as a "standard" lens, being neither telephoto nor wide-angle.