Rules on street photography

revenater

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
what is the rule or law when it come to shooting shots on city streets? There is a festival in my home town this weekend and I am wanting to take some shots but I was unsure about photographing strangers without permission. The festival is on the city streets and city square am I safe to photograph people?

You are allowed to legally take photos of anyone in a public place without permission.

skieur

ChristopherCoy said:
you need to get model releases from ever person you photograph whether they are the focal point or just in the background...

Cant you just get a blanket release that one person would sign on everyones behalf :p

even if they are in a parade, I need a release?

Laws vary from state to state, city to city. What is true for me is not 100% sure to be true for you. I am not a lawyer, nor should anything I post be construed as "legal advice"

"Generally" speaking if you can see it from public property it is fair game. For specifics relating to your locale I would recommend a consultation with an attorney, if you are truly concerned with the legality involved.

*hint, but still not legal advice* check out google streetview, do you really think they have a release on file for all of the people you can see? They don't have my signature but I can be seen

Alas many don't know what 'public property' is, but the key is the concept that people out in public, like a home town festival can have no expectation of privacy making them fair game for photographers taking photos of them.

However, if those photos are going to be used for commercial purposes by 3rd parties, it's a good idea to have releases on file from the people in the photos.
That is based on the legal definition of commercial use, and does not include selling prints of the photos, which is an editorial use of the photos.