Serene Sunrise

With no definite subject, you are left with mood/atmosphere. That is badly blunted by the over saturation, and the centered horizon line.

With no definite subject, you are left with mood/atmosphere. That is badly blunted by the over saturation, and the centered horizon line.
You are absolutely right in your blunt observations. As I am still learning the basics of photography I sometimes go too far in editing. Here is another attempt from that same shoot. Thanks for your comments.
D7100 #3 Kettle Cove HD13 by J T, on Flickr

Not knowing a thing about Photoshop/LR I would know nothing of Post processing, having said that, I have often heard others who do, comment that it is easy to go overboard. All I can suggest is go slow and tweak a little at a time and having a notebook and a pencil around does help. The first pic does seem a little over if I may say , but the mood is right :)

The 2nd one is much better, Shooting a little lower would have offered you a different perspective me thinks.

Just did a quick portrait crop with your 2nd pic . Sorry did it without your permission. Just another perspective I guess.

Last edited:
Subjectivity is such a huge part of photographic composition. After the initial photograph is taken, there is a whole world of possibilities remaining. I am learning that like in music, I was a professional musician for many years, less can be more in the choices we make in any artistic field.

Subjectivity is such a huge part of photographic composition. After the initial photograph is taken, there is a whole world of possibilities remaining. I am learning that like in music, I was a professional musician for many years, less can be more in the choices we make in any artistic field.

Truer words were never spoken. That's why I get such a kick out of all the comments regarding the pictures posted on this forum.

'It's too light......it's too dark...it's too this or that......should have done such and such...'