Should I buy a camera?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HoldenC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there,

Whenever I’ve been hiking or travelling I’m normally disappointed by my photos when I get home (I use an iPhone 7). I often find it quite difficult to frame landscapes nicely without walking a load to get the shot right, because I can’t zoom without losing the image quality.

I’m a complete novice, but I was wondering whether buying a mirrorless camera with a kit zoom lense would allow me to significantly improve the quality of photos I take, or whether I’d be better off investing some time learning how to better frame photos with my phone.

I know very little about cameras so I don’t know how significant the photo quality difference between a ~£700 mirrorless and a smartphone would be.

Any advice or experience appreciated!

Thanks

Take a look at Panasonic compact cameras, my only advice would be to buy the best you can afford.

Take a look at Panasonic compact cameras, my only advice would be to buy the best you can afford.
Will do.

I’m more interested in whether I could take much better photos though?

It would probably be worth searching you tube on taking better photos with your mobile phone. Ive seen some stunning images from this phone but I am not familiar with it. I think it will be easier to obtain higher quality image from a larger sensor camera but a good image can be made by either piece of gear. Keep in mind, some post editing skills can be helpful as well. Searching, studying, and practicing what you learn will advance your imagery with your current setup.