Should I Buy a Canon Rebel XT for $300?

mfmbcpman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I know little to nothing about photography but I'm studying abroad in Europe for a semester and would like to buy a good camera to document it. My friend is selling his Canon Rebel XT for $300. It's in great condition and barely used. Should I buy it? Can you point me in the right direction to learn more? Thank you in advance!

That's a fair price. It would work well for what you want to do, and if you wanted to get more serious about photography, you could learn a lot with that camera. There's a book that gets recommended a lot on internet forums called "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson. It'll teach you the fundamentals of really using an SLR pretty quickly and it's written for absolute beginners.

Get it, I doubt you will regret it.

I got my XTi body on amazon for the same $300 and in silver... Is your friend selling it with the kit lens? (that would be pretty fair). it's a very good camera, hope you enjoy it.

Price seems kinda' high. I bought a silver Rebel XT in the summer of 2009, new old stock, from Ritz, and payed $200 for it brand new in a box...

Price seems kinda' high. I bought a silver Rebel XT in the summer of 2009, new old stock, from Ritz, and payed $200 for it brand new in a box...

That's what I initially thought, so I took a look around ebay, and it's tough to do better than that, especially when you factor in shipping and insurance.