Should I buy a Canon Rebel?

radlations

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been wanting to buy a Canon Rebel XS for a while now. I normally use a powershot S3, mostly point and shoot stuff. I want to upgrade because I want the feel and high quality pictures of a DSLR. I'm a student in college and I study biology. I am not a professional photographer.

I do wildlife photography and landscape. More wildlife than landscape. I also do macroshots for fun. Majority of the time I leave the setting in auto because I dont feel like adjusting Fstops/shutterspeed and whatnot while I'm taking pictures of animals. I've never owned a DSLR before but I've used SLR film cameras before in the 2 photography classes I took in highschool.

So I've done a bit a research and I think I might go with this approach.

Canon Rebel XS body only for 400$
Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 with Vibration Compensation 550$
- I like this do it all lens. I wont have to carry more than one lens and it minimizes the chance of dust getting in the body.

as apposed to the Canon Rebel XS with 18-55 for 500$
Telephoto Zoom lens something between 50-300mm for about 300$

Is this a good approach?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

If you want an 'all in one' type lens, then that might be a good option for you. However, keep in mind that to make a lens with such a wide zoom range (not mot make it huge & really heavy), they have to make compromises with image quality. So while it is still probably going to be better than your S3, it will be far from what the XS is capable of (with a good quality lens).
But the good news is that you will always have the option to purchase/use a different lens in the future.

I want to upgrade because I want the feel and high quality pictures of a DSLR