Someone basing their paintings on a photographer's photos - your thoughts?

AfroKen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.kenleephotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a relatively new photographer in many respects, so there's so many things that I haven't thought through yet.

Eleven Shadows Travels: Death Valley 2009-2010

A friend of a friend sent the above link, my photos of Death Valley, around. One of her friends is a painter, and was interested in painting several paintings of them.

Now, I don't know whether she is a commercial painter or what she is going to do with them or whether she is simply going to paint them for her own enjoyment.

Assuming that she is a commercial painter or is using this in a commercial manner, what are some points to consider? Are there articles or anything on this sort of thing? What should I consider? This is a totally new area that I've never once encountered. Your thoughtful responses are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

P.S. And just to be clear, I'm not looking at anything other than something that is fairly typical and FAIR for everyone, and am not looking to soak someone for money.

Thanks. I try not to cross-post in general, but the other forum only had 16 people viewing, and was hoping for an answer relatively quickly, so I "broke the guidelines" this time!! :D I just posted this in two places anyway, here and the other forum.

Assuming that she is a commercial painter or is using this in a commercial manner, what are some points to consider? Are there articles or anything on this sort of thing? What should I consider?

i don't know if there are articles on this sort of thing. i'd say let her go ahead and paint your pictures and feel good that someone likes your work enough to use it in her art.

Assuming that she is a commercial painter or is using this in a commercial manner, what are some points to consider? Are there articles or anything on this sort of thing? What should I consider?