Sony vs Nikon

carlos91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
im only looking to buy one of these cameras.
Sony A230
Nikon D3000

the price difference isn't much so dont worry. im worried about picture quality lens and accessory options. durability and reliability of camera. i have read good reviews about both but more bad reviews about sony also is the ease of of use is it difficult to use or is it user friendly i do know everything when it comes to aperture, shutter-speed and ISO i have been taking classes in high school since i was a freshman now i am senior and decided to buy my first DSLR plz and thank you for all the help and info....

kk thx anyone else

my best advice for you is to go out and tried it out. One of the big complaint i hear about sony is their body is too small for people wit big hand but while people with small hand like it. I have a sony a330 myself and i love it perfect for my hand to hold and light as well. keep in mind they also have minolta legacy as well. all the minolta lens wit af can be use for the sony alpha camera. but both camera are good. I would reccomend the a330 tho just for a live view
plus i know a place to get the sony a330 under 400 brand new if you are on a budget

We had a similar discussion on another forum that I am on. The overall consensus was go Nikon over Sony. Once you start looking at the Nikon take a close look at the D5000 over the D3000 Its not that much more but it is a better body.

Anything that you can pick over Sony would be good, price be dammed.

In the news in the past month:
- Sony released an "update" for the PS3 which removed the ability to install other OSes on it, despite the ability to run Linux being one of the initial selling points, and despite a senior huncho at Sony stating they openly support projects to get other operating systems only 4 weeks ago at an expo in Japan. Consumers got screwed.