speed light

daph1980

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm very new to photography and I have a canon t6 and my question is what do most of you use a speed light for and what one do you suggest that won't break the bank?

When there isn't enough natural/ambient light; home and restaurant parties, banquets, etc.

The Yongnuo flashes seem to be recommended by many, and they are a LOT cheaper than the Canon flashes.

You will also want a flash bracket, to raise the flash higher above the lens axis.
This is an outrageously cheap bracket. I have one, and I think it used to be a $70 bracket.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00009UTLU/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_12?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

And you will need a connecting cable, which I don't have a link for.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Broadly speaking, speedlights are the portable solution where we need to increase the light level and / or create our own lighting qualities. Most of us with more than a casual interest in photography own several. For a beginner, the most likely requirement is to help cope with low lighting indoors, usually shooting events or portraits. For these purposes look for a dedicated speedlight with a tilt, swivel, zoom head so the light quality can be improved by bouncing off a nearby surface. In this context "dedicated" means the unit communicates with your make of camera to achieve correct automatic exposure. This is useful, for example, when shooting people engaged in activities such that the conditions are rapidly changing.