The legal point of view...

Laura_R

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new in the photography world, and my question is, can I take a picture of whoever I want and publish it (internet, magazine…)? I guess each country should have their law, but generally speaking, it is regulated? Or how it is in your country?
Thanks for your help!
Lau

I am new in the photography world, and my question is, can I take a picture of whoever I want and publish it (internet, magazine…)? I guess each country should have their law, but generally speaking, it is regulated? Or how it is in your country?
Thanks for your help!
Lau
In the US, no, you can't just take a picture of whoever you want and publish it. To publish an image of someone you need their permission. Photographers carry Model Release forms for such purposes.
If a person is out in public, they have no reasonable expectation of privacy so you can take their picture. But, you can't publish it without their permission (model release). You can have the image printed and hang it on your wall at home, because that's not publication, it's personal use.

The requirements for model releases varies by state, in the US.

A discussion of exactly what constitutes publication is needed.

You are not allowed to violate someones privacy to take their picture. You can't put a telephoto lens on your camera and snap shots of them through the windows of their home, or hide a remotely operated camera in a public restroom. If you're on private property you have to abide by the property owners rules.

You can sell prints of the image to people to hang on the walls of their home, but you can't sell the image to a company that will make 100,000 posters of the image, to sell to individuals to hang on their walls at home.