Too much camera?

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello there. By way of introduction I am an amateur photographer in that I own a D3100 (18-55mm kit lense, 18-140mm lens, 50mm prime) and enjoy playing around with it as a hobbyist. I understand the basics of manual shooting but am in no way proficient and often shoot in AP mode for speed. I currently do not do any sort of post-production but am planning to learn at least the basics. It always felt like “cheating” to use photoshop, a bit like seeing average photos with filters on Instagram… but I now understand that it is not even close to the same thing in the real photography world. I also understand that longer term some general photography courses, further reading, photoshop/lightroom learning etc will be of most benefit and I plan to do all of these things.

I have recently had my first baby and find myself using the camera daily, mostly with the prime lense given he isn’t moving around and I generally have plenty of time to compose shots. However, I now own a D7100 body and D750 body, both used. I think I paid a decent enough price for each (D7100 was just over $400 with 4k actuations and the D750 was ~$1,100 with 1k actuations) so the plan was to keep one and sell the other for close to what I paid after testing them at home. I figured this was cheaper than renting both and would allow me more time to test. I plan to spend this weekend with both and hopefully make a decision but would appreciate any help as I am concerned my amateur eye and skills will mean I make the wrong choice. Perhaps I pick the D7100 and in a few months after developing my skills I wish I had kept the D750 and kick myself for less than optimal family shots at this precious time? Perhaps I submit to upgrade syndrome and take the D750 after convincing myself it will make me a better photographer, which I know it will not in isolation?!