Total Noob to PP

MaxPix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
In the past I have shot totally in JPEG and have only occasionally edited or corrected an image (clear up a dust artifact or something similar). I am now embarking on a lifelong goal to begin serious landscape phtography. I would like some guidance on LR and PS.

I intend to shoot landscapes in RAW mode and use LR to correct the images. I am not looking for extreme graphics/art tools in PS and from reading posts on TPF, LR looks like the way to go. I also like the file management tools LR offers,

However, I have about 5000 JPEG images in my library currently. "Summations" posted in another thread:

Lightroom being RAW exclusive is not entirely true. Plenty of people I know use Lightroom for JPEG editing. Sure it's a bit less powerful (WB info is lost), but still the same excellent thought out program making it easy to manage large volumes of photos that need processing.

That's the key difference too. Lightroom is for image wide touchups of entire photo collections. It makes the process fast and easy. But it has very few pixel by pixel tools. You won't for instance be able to make the top of the image darker than the bottom (easily done in photoshop with a gradient mask).

Lightroom was designed specifically for photography and photographers. There are no drawing, or layers, or painting or compositing tools. This being said it is a great compliment to photoshop. In fact if you have CS3 you have lightroom right there in Bridge for the most part. It looks different but the tools all work the same.

You can work on your JPEG files just as easily as RAW and your originals never get touched.
Don't be afraid. Download it and try it. You will see for yourself.

So if I'm not interested in extreme graphics editing of PS, will LR suffice or should I go with LR & PS so I can do the pixel level corrections. Thx in advance for your input.