Upgrading to a professional grade film SLR

jonolikesbuster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I want to upgrade to a nicer film camera and I need some help choosing. I shoot alot of B&W, color stuff too, and I'm just getting into to slide film. I currently shoot with a Canon Rebel K2, which I borrowed from my school along time ago and just never gave back. I have a nice digital SLR but I like shooting film better. I dont want to spend a ton of money and would like to spend sub 500 but possibly more. So these are the cameras I'm looking at but I'm open to other suggestions. I've really just started doing the research.

Canon EOS-1V : Its really nice, no doubt, but its pricey.
Canon EOS 3 : Seems nice too, and I've read good things. It's in my price range too.
Nikon F5 : I'm not a Nikon guy but that doenst mean I'll dismiss it. It seems ok but lacking compared to the Canons. In my price range though.

I really dont know too much about the film camera world, ask me about digitals and I can tell you something (hell, I sell them for work) but film, not so much. Your help would really be appricated. Thanks.

I use a Nikon FE2 and really like it. It's an aperture priority in automatic mode and I can use full manual as well. If I'm feeling nostalgic I reach for the Pentax K1000.

I guess we (or I, as I don't speak for everyone here) would want to know what kind of features you're looking for. That'll help us narrow it down for you.

I would get a Nikon F100 personally.. lots of features of the F5, but smaller (without the battery grip, which you could add if you want) and less expensive too.

"Nikon F5 : I'm not a Nikon guy but that doenst mean I'll dismiss it. It seems ok but lacking compared to the Canons."

Not sure what you mean.. I don't have personal experience with it, but i've read that the F5 is considered one of the best (if not THE best) professional film cameras ever produced.