Using an Rebel XT Remote Switch, with a 40D

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by electronicaddiction23, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. electronicaddiction23

    electronicaddiction23 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello friends, i bought a Canon 40D today and so far i absolutely love it. My only gripe is the input for the remote switch is different than the rebel XT (my previous camera which im planning on selling).

    You see with my Rebel XT, i had it rigged up to a TI-84 Graphing Calculator. The wire inputs are the same.

    I was able to take time lapse pictures using an application on the calculator.

    Now that ive got this amazing new camera, i can't use the time lapse trick anymore, wire wont work.

    Is there an adaptor i can buy?

    Basically, the proper question to ask would be:

    Is there a way i can use a Remote Switch RS-60E3 with a Canon 40D?
    What would be the adaptor's name and/or part number?

    thanks all for the help. :blushing:
     
  2. electronicaddiction23

    electronicaddiction23 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    no one?
     
  3. tsaraleksi

    tsaraleksi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greencastle Indiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    To the best of my knowledge it's not possible but there could be an adapter out there somewhere.
     
  4. electronicaddiction23

    electronicaddiction23 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    when i look into the hole for the remote on my 40D, i notice inside there are three tiny prongs.


    the tip of the cord on the old camera remote switch has three contact points.


    coincidence?
     
  5. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Is it just a regular stereo jack? (Pretty sure it is.)

    Radio Shack should have the adapter.
     
  6. electronicaddiction23

    electronicaddiction23 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    no its a 2.5mm headphone jack. like older cell phone handsfree kits.
     
  7. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Same thing.

    which end of the adapter do you need to be 2.5mm (male or female end), and do you know what size the other end is?
     
  8. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    All the sizes at Radio Shack are in inches. 2.5mm = 3/32". I'm guessing you probably need an adapter to go from 3/32 to 1/8. Something like this, but I'm not sure which end needs to be which size.

    edit
    I think you need the one opposite of that, like this. Your remote has the 3/32 plug, right? And the hole on the 40D is bigger? If you have some calipers measure the diameter of the hole, it should be somewhere around .125". If it is, this second link is the one you need. You can probably just eyeball it too. I think the next size up is 1/4", so it should be pretty easy to tell what it is (probably 1/8").
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2008
  9. electronicaddiction23

    electronicaddiction23 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    the hole on the 40D isn't just bigger, its a totally different jack. its an N3 input. my issue isn't the 1/8 to 2.5, it has nothing to do with that. i need something that looks like this:

    [​IMG]


    im going to have to custom make it

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ahh... Sorry.

    I would still bet that Radio Shack probably has what you're looking for though. Search their online catalog and call the local store once you know the part number.
     
  11. Warren_G

    Warren_G TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Radio shack wont have the connector that plugs into the 40D, I think that is a Canon proprietary plug. For the same price as an end, you could always just get a new remote for the 40D here:
    [ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000NVX7EC[/ame]
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

rebel to 40d remote adapter