Very Bright light - advice on film

jan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
am about to photograph in mediterranean, extremely bright conditions. Any advice on best film (colour and black and white) and use of flash.

if it really really bright, i would use a really slow film, like ISO 100, or even 50. im a beginner so im not sure if you can get slower than that.

Hertz van Rental said:
You can get B/W and colour films down to ISO25.

Really? wow...I personally would get a film called Fuji Velvia, its a slide film but it brings out the best in good light, but its ISO is still 50 so if its slightly under kinda bright, then youll need a tripod probably...but you can most likely get away without one through most of it, just keep a watch on that exposure and hope it dont really go below 60 :)

Hmm. On checking I have found that Kodak have kindly discontinued Kodachrome25 and Agfa have done the same with Agfapan25. Oh well.

And I think I heard Fuji just discontinued Velvia 50, continuing to make only the newer Velvia 100.

I would recommend a polarizing filter for bright outdoor shots.

Even the brightest light in the Med wont need F22 at 1/1000 of a second, so dont worry about the minimum light tramsmission your setup can deal with.

Worry more about the contrast, and the brightness of the sky or the sand.

Take 50 or 100 ISO film, but also take a couple of rolls of faster stuff, just in case, and for dark nights. In fact it is usually best to take your favourite film, to add a sense of familiarity to a new situation.

Some parts of the Med have very little "light fog" around the towns and cities, so the sky can be lovely, dark and crisp. (With those little white dot things in that they call stars, ;) ) So a fast film can help with night shots, wandering the disco areas, long exposure night landscapes.