Wedding advice and questions

rokstomper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As an introduction, a very good friend came to me today about photographing his sisters wedding tomorrow. I have only done photography as a hobby and he is well aware of that. I told him I would do it and told him I am not a professional and will not take any form of compensation for doing it.

With that being said, I have never taken photos at a wedding and I have little experience with portraits. I am fairly confident with camera controls and functionality, however I really do not even know where to begin with a wedding.

The location is at a house and he told me to be there at 2pm. The sun sets at approximately 7:45 pm. I will be getting some more information tonight.

I have the following gear
Nikon D7100
Nikon D3100
kit 18-55 vr
kit 55-200 vr
Sigma 17-50 f2.8

I do not have an external flash or any other major items I feel as though I will wish I had while I am there.

Question 1
With the above listed gear, do I have a chance at leaving with some great photos?
Question 2
Where do I start? That is obviously a very vague question but I have never done this so any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Question 3
What can I do to prepare for it and what would be some things to do if more time was available to prepare?
Question 4
What focal length combinations would be the most generic solution?

Also, any other advice or comments would be awesome.
Thank you

D7100 + Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 for indoor shots. For your telephoto shots, the 55-200 VR seems like the only lens you have, so use that outdoors at the event. 55-200 outdoors would make a lot of nice "detail isolation" snaps of guests, informal portraits,etc..