what camera?

Maks

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hi
i'm a musician/producer with a strong intrest in photography...
but, i don't know anything about it...
I want to buy a camera to shoot some pictures, in combi with some photoshop on my mac powerbook maybe...
But, witch camera's are good for a newbie?
it would be used for some 'all round' photography...
I know how stupid newbie quastions can be sometimes, but hey; you have to start somewhere...
thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

There are tons of different cameras out there, in plenty of different classes & price ranges. The more information you can give us, the better suggestions we could give you.

I assume you are thinking of a digital camera. I always recommend a digital SLR camera, if you can afford one. The entry level DSLRs are around $1000 US. There are lots & lots of digital point & shoot cameras (seems everybody has one) but I'll try to quickly explain why I think DSLRs are worth the money.

In just about every non-SLR digital camera, there is a very small sensor that records the image (about 4mm x 6mm) even in the high end $800 ones. A digital SLR like the Canon Rebel XT for example has a sensor that is 22.2mm x 14.8mm, that's quite a big difference. One advantage of a bigger sensor is image quality, especially at higher ISO settings. That means you can get better photos with less light. If you plan to print photos at say 8x10, image quality & digital noise are much, much better from a larger sensor.

Another advantage is shutter lag, with most P&S digital cameras, when you press the shutter...it waits for a second or so before it is ready to actually record the image...with a DSLR...it's much faster. This is a must have if you are thinking of shooting sports or action shots.