What Camera

Madalaskan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A little background. I am a fused glass artist who wants to produce quality photos I can present to galleries and juried events. I have done some research and have purchased some lights, a photo cube, tripod, etc. The only thing left to get is some type of quality camera that is user friendly and doesn't take a college degree in photography to understand and use. Do I want a bridge camera or a DSLR? I would appreciate some input on what camera to buy and why you think it's a good choice. thanks in advance for your help!!

Last edited:
You do not need to be concerned about the complexity of a modern camera. They are all pretty easy to operate, and the more "serious" the camera is, the easier it is to operate, really.

There are lots of various functions in a modern camera, but you can just ignore 90% of it. You are buying it for very specific needs and will be using just a few settings to take photos of all your work.

Nevertheless you will need professional results. All you need is a couple of good quality prime lenses (depending on the size of your works) and a camera with a good modern sensor like Nikon D5200 or D5300. Both are APC-S cameras, not too expensive and both will do the job brilliantly. You can go with a full frame system, but I really do not think the expenses are justified there.

You will also need a software to convert RAW images and work with it in post production. You will need to shoot in RAW format if you want the best colours. Alternatively you will need to set the customised white balance for your setting. You will need a white or gravy card for it. There is a lot of info about it on the net.