Which camera for sports-daytime and low light??

flmomx5

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Advice please!!! Ok, I need a camera and lens to take action shots (my kids playing soccer) in both daytime and low light situations as well as everyday indoor shots. I'm upgrading to a DSLR, starting from scratch. The salesman at Best Buy told me the Canon 50D would be best for me, and that was the camera I liked the most and felt comfortable in my hands. It came with the standard 28-135 lens. However, I recently spoke with a sports photographer who told me that the Canon 50D wouldn't be able to give me the low light shots I was looking for. He recommended buying a used/refurbed Nikon D300 along with a Nikon ED AF-S VR Nikkor 70-200 f/2.8 lens and a Nikon SB-800 flash. I'm not a professional, nor do I plan to be, at least not yet and don't have a huge budget, but I do want to get what will work best for me. Can anyone offer me advice on what I should do?? I would really appreciate it.

Nikon D300 along with a Nikon ED AF-S VR Nikkor 70-200 f/2.8 lens and a Nikon SB-800 flash

That is what I was going to suggest.....

OK, I just looked at that particular lens on Adorama....I don't have that kind of money. What would be the next best option for me??

Selling a 1.6x camra with a 28-135mm lens that dates from the film era is Canon's new idea of a way to get rid of old stock lenses. In Japan and Europe, Canon is not selling the 28-135 as a bundle with *any* digital bodies, but in the USA, there's a push on by Canon USA, in which the old 28-135 lens is bundled with newer Canon bodies.