Which camera to buy?

sarapm.1360

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi dear all,
Photography is my main hobby. Since long time I've taken photos using compact cameras (sony, canon). I wanna buy a new canon with exchangable lense. Since i have no experience about such camera, it would be nice if you can give me some advice.
My preferences: economical (student budget), lense for macro and archtecture-photography (wide lense), long term support of accesories :)

Thanks in advance
Regatds
Sara

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Define "economical" in your terms.

We need an idea of what country you're in and what kind of price you're thinking of. Even if its only a rough value we really need some idea. There is a huge variation in costs and you can get stuff (esp if you second hand) very cheaply - all the way up to hundreds to thousands of $/£. So we need some baseline to work from to make suggestions from.

Also it helps if you can give an idea of what you find lacking in your current camera and in what you're hoping from an upgrade.

Hi Sara,

I'd reccomend a Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4 OS HSM Contemporary for your lens and team it up with a basic body with whatever you have left in your budget. The reason I suggest this lens is that it has a fairly wide angle to telephoto, fast at the wide end (good option for low light), short 0.22mm minimum focusing distance (while not quite a 1:1 macro you can still get some decent shot with this lens) and its pretty sharp. It's also reasonably cheap as far as lenses go. Its a pretty good all rounder and should cover the bases you want in one lens. You could allways look at adding an ultrawide and a proper 1:1 macro later on. Canon sensors at the entry level cameras are pretty similar and really need updated, but even a basic model should keep you occupied while you learn the basics.

Unless you can afford a 6D in which case get that.

What's your budget?

Are you open to other camera makers or limiting yourself to Canon only ?