Which Camera?

kcarter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I'm Kevin. So this has been asked 1,000 times over I'm sure, but I haven't found a good topic out of all the ones I read that fit my needs... or at least what I want to do...

To start off, I have no experience with photography. I DID read tutorials on basic stuff, like the rule of thirds, how to choose what you actually want in your picture so you don't put too much in, viewpoints, etc.

I was looking at the Canon EOS Rebel T1i camera, but I am unsure. I also know someone selling a Nikon 300D that is basically brand new because he barely used it, but I feel it will be too much of a camera for me being new. It's also pricey...

I'm a volunteer FireFighter/EMT. I want to photograph fires, random nature things, and eventually sports (motocross too) and some people. From what I gather, to take good sports shots, you need expensive lenses. I'd like to spend at most like $750 for camera/lens as a beginner, with maybe more in the future.

Any suggestions you guys have for cameras/lenses would be great, and if you wouldn't mind, some reasons why it's good for me.

Could anyone suggest some more good tutorials on ISO/Shutter speeds/Apeture, etc... I read a lot on them but it still doesn't make complete sense. I'm not sure if the tutorials were bad or I just can't understand it, but I'm trying. Or anything else you think would be good for me.

Also, when lenses say f/(whatever number here) and they have different series of them and different sizes like some are 50-250mm, I'm really not sure what makes one better than another and stuff like that.

So, I'll stop asking so many questions for a first thread, and hope someone is willing to help me.

Thanks in advance for your time,
Kevin

There's a lot of questions here. In fact, the "Dummies" books are often good starting points as they assume no knowledge on your part.