Which film do you recommend?

sultan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a noob with film (shot only digital before). I'm looking for some good quality film to use in my K1000 that can be processed anywhere (i.e. even in grocery stores). I need ISO 100, 200, and 400 film. What films do you recommend?

P.S. I like shooting both B&W and Colour, so basically suggest any good film that can be processed at a grocery store.

Last edited:
I don't think they make a bad film today, so you might as well buy the film where you're getting it processed, though b&w might have to be sent out.

Do you want cheap? or is it ok to pay a little more for better quality?

Cheap, but still good = Fuji Superia 400, Fujicolor 200
Better quality= Fuji Reala 100, Fuji 400H, Kodak Portra 160 and 400

Kodak BW400CN. C41 process can be done anywhere that one hours color. And film that has a little box with C41 is good for what you are looking for. For starters, I would suggest house brands until you get the feel of the place (film) and then you can branch out and experiment.

Fuji Velvia 50. It's high saturation and resolution slide film and Walmart has never turned me away. It is E6 process, and therefore needs to be sent out at most places, but even Wally world sends it somewhere that does a good job. I love Velvia 50 like most everyone else and I use it in 135, 120 and 4x5, but I only use it for landscapes.

My other favorite is Kodak TMAX 400 bw. Awesome general use black and white film.

As far as C-41 processing goes, I second the Fuji Superia 400 and Kodak BW400CN. Just avoid any Kodak ISO >800 color film. In my experience it never comes close to good color rendition.

Last edited:
As you can see, film type is pretty subjective. People like different films. The best thing to do is buy some, try it, see if you like it. If you do, buy more, if you don't, try other films until you find something you do like.