Which Nikon lens for my D60??

NicoleH

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I am kind of new to slr photography, but I have been into photography for a while. I got my D60 in December, with two lenses (Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR and Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR)

I am looking to buy a zoom/telephoto lens sometime soon and I was wondering if anyone could recommend to me some good choices.

The main uses I would want for my new lens are nature/wildlife photography, and equine photography. I would want to take lots of action shots, and to have good low light performance.

I can spend around $800 for the lens, and would be willing to look around for a while to find a good deal on a used one if the normal price for the lens is out of my price range.

The Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 D looked really good to me, and I saw a used one for sale that was in good condition for sale for only $600.... But the AF won't work on my d60.... :'( And the version with the Af-S is out of my price range. Would it be worth it to buy the 80-200 without being able to use the AF and focus manually, or would that be too difficult to learn and use for action shots. I don't have much experience using manual focus for action pictures...

I was also looking at the Nikon 18-200mm VR. Could that work for the type of photography I am interested in, and can it take decent ow light action shots. (At least, for the price range I am looking at)

Also, are prime lenses good for this kind of photography? I don't know wer much about those....

Let me know if you have any suggestions.
Thanks!
-Nicole

70-300VR, I love this lens and sold my 18-200VR to get it with no regrets.

For $800 you could get the 70-300VR AND the 35mm f/1.8 that will both work great on your D60.

70-300VR Example:

I know these aren't great shots but for the conditions I'm happy... plus they were handheld with autofocus, two mistakes on my part.

I went from this at 70mm: