WHY DO MY PHOTOS LOOK LIKE THIS

Photonoob1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have been taking some photographs for my girlfriends blog, while I am an amateur I feel like I may be doing something wrong to produce this amount of softness on the images.

I'm using a T3i with a 17-55mm 2.8 lens, why is the zoomed image so soft?! $Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 6.49.33 PM.jpg$Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 6.50.00 PM.jpg

ALl advice much appreciated :)

motion blur from shutter speed, focus, poor lens, dirty lens, subject moving (maybe sharpen RAW, but prob not.)

Shoot a dollar bill on a tripod and see how sharp your set up really is.

I really can't tell too much, but it looks like your focus did not fall on your subjects face. Your image is also really underexposed, histogram pushed all the way to the left, which will have an impact on quality as well.

I must agree with kathythorson, the focus seems to be off...it's just not focused properly.

a combination of things.

1) kit lens shot wide open (try stopping down 2 stops for better sharpness)
2) shot with slow shutter; a bit of motion blur
3) shot with UV filter on lens
4) not enough diffussed light, what light is there looks pretty hard (on-camera flash?)

a combination of things.

1) kit lens shot wide open (try stopping down 2 stops for better sharpness)

2) shot with slow shutter; a bit of motion blur
3) shot with UV filter on lens
4) not enough diffussed light, what light is there looks pretty hard (on-camera flash?)
-

It was shot with a flash at around 7pm in Boston (pretty low light)

What do you recommend shutter speed to be? I figured 1/100 would be decent for a relatively still subject

- no UV filter

This isn't the kit lens, it is this guy -http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=425812&is=USA&Q=&A=details

Does hard light ruin image quality like this?

Maybe I should get my lens looked at?

Last edited: