Worst confrontation while shooting in public?

rexbobcat

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was just curious what the worst interaction you've had with either a subject or just a random bystander. It doesn't have to be while you were shooting 'street photography,' but just in general. Maybe you were shooting architecture and someone confronted you etc....

I'm asking because I have recently begun shooting kinda-sorta street photography (mostly on the beach though so not sure that counts), and I photographed a solitary street musician playing the guitar. I know it's bad etiquette to do a hit and run photo, but I didn't want to lose the moment, so I shot the photo first, and then I was gonna give him some money for his performance and the photo.

Unfortunately, before I even brought the camera down he quipped "You don't have any manners, do ya?" I didn't really feel like engaging him because I'm not good at managing unexpected conflict like that, so I just shrugged and quickly walked off. Probably not the best choice but.... :p

That's uber-tame compared to what some people have been through, however.

What's your best worst story?

Last edited:
I was informed, in no uncertain terms, that it was illegal (in the US) to photograph a county courthouse. The guys' wife was on the phone with the cops.

I politely told him that it most certainly IS legal and his information was incorrect. He said 'they' passed laws forbidding it. I told him to read the US Constitution and then walked away.