Yayyy new lenses and question about filters?

SubOhmGirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I early this week I ordered a Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR II DX and then last night I was cruising the let go app and found a Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR for $90 that I simply couldn't walk away from. Last night was my lucky night. It is beauuuutiful. I am stoked to have a good little budding collection of lenses. Next up is a reasonably priced macro lens and some flashes/basic lighting equipment.

My question, as I am a beginner still is I have seen several people mention using UV filters on their lenses to help protect them. What brands or types of filters do you recommend for my lenses? Please and thank you in advance.

None!!!! The front element of your lens is a LOT tougher than you think, and a lot harder to damage. Even the cheapest lens has hundreds of thousands of dollars of R&D behind it; does it really make sense to put another piece of glass in the equation? Something that add reflection, flare and other distortion? If you must, then buy a clear glass element from someone like Lee, Singh-Ray, B+W or Heliopan, but expect to pay $100+ for it. Your lens hood is the best protection you can use.

None!!!! The front element of your lens is a LOT tougher than you think, and a lot harder to damage. Even the cheapest lens has hundreds of thousands of dollars of R&D behind it; does it really make sense to put another piece of glass in the equation? Something that add reflection, flare and other distortion? If you must, then buy a clear glass element from someone like Lee, Singh-Ray, B+W or Heliopan, but expect to pay $100+ for it. Your lens hood is the best protection you can use.

I appreciate your knowledge, thank you.

I’ll echo the rest. Use lens hoods always, don’t bother with protective filters.