Yo PC geeks...I'd like your help.

Kent Frost

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.djspiral.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm going to be building a computer within the next couple of months, so I'm building a components list so I can get an idea for how much I'll need to put back to do it. I've never done this before, but I've been doing a little research and found all these components.
Keep in mind, I am NOT a gamer. I do some video, a LOT of audio applications, and it will primarily be used for digital photography.
Multi-tasking is a necessity.
Also, I won't be running Vista on this machine. I'm sticking with WinXP Pro for a while longer until I see that the bugs in Vista are patched up.

Let me know if you have any suggestions or ideas on how to bring the cost down. So far I'm sitting at around $575 w/shipping. I want to keep it within the range of $500-600..... or less if I can.
For example, the motherboard already appears to have a relatively okay audio interface panel. Will I even need to purchase an audio card? I won't be using it for surround sound, just basic audio production and editing.
Will the fan & heatsink that comes with the processor suffice? Or should I go ahead and purchase the one I have in the list?

The way I chose all these components was by picking what I felt to be a comfortable average based on price vs. customer reviews. So if you look at this equipment and see that some of it may be over or underkill and you know of something that may be better for what I need, please let me know. I want to be sure to nail this on the first swing.

I don't have hard drives in this list because I already have a couple that I use for my current system and are ready for use in a new one.

Here's what I found, click on any of them to go to their description page.

Core 2 Duo Processor
Motherboard
Tower Case
PSU
RAM
Video Card
DVD/CD Burner
Audio Card
Multi Media Card Reader