1st Client I don't know, safety advice!

MalsView87

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've had my business for a year now and, so far, have only shot people I know or mutual acquaintances. Today I was contacted by my 1st potential client that I have no connections with. She texted me and asked about my business and if I was available for her event. We discussed it via text and she seemed to know exactly what she wanted but she would not tell me the location of her event and was VERY hesitant to give me her email address. She finally did so I could send her my rates and information but the email address was a very generic gmail address. I have yet to receive a response but now that the initial excitement of a new client has worn off, I feel like I'm seeing some red flags.

I'm an individual business owner; sole proprietor, female, no partner and VERY new to the business stuff. I'm at a loss as to what to do about this. I don't know if I'm just being paranoid or if their are some real concerns to be had. I gave her my availability but there have been no bookings so I'm not obligated to this yet. I could really use some advice from those who have the experience. Thank you!

My advice, follow your got instincts,there usually seldom wrong.

Agree ^^ This definitely sounds a little suspect, and you're wise to be cautious. It certainly doesn't mean that there is a problem, but it doesn't hurt be alert. If he/she/they want you to pay for ANYTHING, you can be guarenteed it's a scam. Send her an e-mail and let him/her/them know that a pre-shoot consult is a requirement, and suggest you meet at a local coffee-shop/restaurant/etc to discuss the client's exact needs.