35mm SLR versus Digital SLR?

biguniverse

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been using point-and-shoot digital cameras for the past 4+ years now. However, I'm getting ready to take a Basic Photography course and they require a 35mm camera.

My question is, should I borrow a 35mm from someone for this course instead of investing a new 35mm camera (e.g. Canon Rebel)? Or, will I need the 35mm for anything? My interest is in nature photography and possibly selling large pictures (e.g. 20" x 24").

My fear is that I won't be using a 35mm beyond this course because I'm really interested in digital much more.

Do they want you to use a 35mm camera because you will be doing darkroom work? If so, yeah, you will need a film camera. If you are planning on staying digital, I would borrow rather than buy. If all they want is for you to have some manual control, a digital with manual overrides should work fine. You best bet is to call them and ask.

You could borrow or buy an old used 35mm SLR. It's often said that learning photography on an older manual camera is preferred to learning on a camera with all the bells & whistles. Who knows, you may even like it just as much as your digital.

Think about where you plan to go with digital. If you want to make 20 x 24 pictures, you will most likely want a camera with a larger sensor than you will find in a point & shoot digi cam. You might want to move up to a digital SLR. If you plan to go that route, think about getting a film SLR that will be compatible with the DSLR that you will be using.

For example. If you get a Canon Rebel (or other EOS) 35mm film camera for your course. You will be able to use the lens or lenses on a Canon DSLR like the D-Rebel or 10D.