4/3 mount lenses

AlexisRhea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am still a total noob at this... :)

I am in love with the Olympus Evolt E500. For my needs, this camera should be great (for now and probably for quite some time). The main negative feedback I have received regarding this camera (aside from noise levels at high ISO) is that is uses 4/3rds lenses- and that those are not common so I would be limited in that respect. I also heard from a guy at the local camera shop that 4/3 mount lenses are going to be produced more so I probably won't have any issues. So, which is it? Rare find? More will be produced?
I mostly shoot nature/landscape and macros. I am also looking at getting into portrait and wedding in the future. I'm not much into sports/action shots, so the noise issue won't be a factor. The kit that I am purcahsing has these lenses: 14-45mm f3.5/5.6 & 40-150mm f3.5/4.5 & .50XPro Wide Angle Lens (macro). Will this be sufficient? Any other lens recommendations and/or 4/3 mount lens info? :D

I love this place!
Thanks so much for your feedback! :heart:

I wish I could remember where to find it, but I recently read a very articulate and multi-featured article describing exactly why 4/3rds will be around for quite some time. Basically it is a very smart market response - lots of companies who have either great technical expertise (Leica!!) or marketing skill (Olympus, Panasonic) are creating an open standard, rather than competing with the big three (Canon, Sony, Nikon).

There are not that many lenses yet, but the few that are available are good to very good. They do not yet make entry-level lenses, but are still priced quite competitively. Simply put: you're buying pretty good glass at relatively low prices that will serve well for a long time. Do not be afraid.