5 random for C&C - Newbie

Simonie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

This is my first time posting even though I am surfing the forum for a couple of months now. Below are 5 random pictures, the best one I think I have so far. They have minimal photoshopping done.

I know the composition may be lacking but I am looking for constructive critisism about focus, aperture, exposure and iso. I need to know what I did good and what I can improve.

I have a Canon Rebel T1i with the basic lens Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS. I need to get a better one but that's another topic! I mostly shoot in Tv mode without flash.

I hope you like it!

1. My dog Conan. I was looking to get his whole body and sleepy mood but it is somewhat on the green side. Lightning was minimal.
1/13, 4.5, iso400
4444718618_b1b5d9a07c_b.jpg

2. Again, it's conan. I wanted to get a more noble look of my dog but I am sad to see that I cropped his right ear.
1/200, 3.5, iso250
4443945787_ec66cdf160_b.jpg

3. This is my brother's girlfriend. I love this picture, I think there is an old feel to it. Minimal photoshop was done to remove a little bit of yellow. Is her right side too dark or that's ok? The lightning was minimal.
1/10, 5.0, iso400
4443939659_09f5a27c3a_b.jpg

4. This is an italian "brioche" my aunt made from Christmas. I lowered the contrast because it was too harsh. I tried to get a macro feel to it. Lightning was minimal.
1/60, 5.6, iso400
4443941955_7afa64afd7_b.jpg

5. This is a Christmas decoration that was on a gift. I tried to get the background as blurry as possible to capture the lights behind while focusing on a small part of the decoration. Lightning was minimal.
1/60, 4.5, iso400
4444714700_4b81f43f7b_b.jpg

#1: Awwww. I love photos of dogs. They are so photogenic
#2: I wonder what he's looking at. Maybe try and shoot in the direction he's looking?
#4: Yummeh!

Thanks for the comments.